I love you, daddy!

16 Jan

Last night I checked my email and found this from my daddy:

You probably saw this on FB, Emily, but I wanted to make sure you saw it. One of my great thrills of life is having you as a daughter, and as I read this it made me feel good that the majority of them I’ve done with you. Truthfully, I didn’t do all of them for you, I did them for me too because being your Father is one of my greatest joys.

Bonnie’s baby brought back all the emotion and thrill that I felt that first day we met. How grateful I am to God to be called your Daddy; it’s a word that holds more meaning to me than any other word. What a great gift you were, and are, to me.I love you, and you can always kiss me once, and kiss me twice, and kiss me once again….

Daddy

I saw this link a while back on pinterest and the first time I read it, I cried happy tears. When I read it again last night, I cried again. Not only because it was so sweet, but because he sent it specifically to me to make sure I saw it. Every “rule” just reminds me how lucky I am to have such an amazing father.
There is nothing stronger than a bond between a daughter and her father. I know that I can go to him for anything. Now, did I actually go to him all the time? No. I wish it would have because it would have made life a heck of a lot easier! ha!  There were times in my life that our relationship was so strained because of the choices I was making, but all he did was keep fighting for our relationship and loving me. I’m so glad he did, because I don’t know where I would be if I didn’t have him. God has blessed me so much to be placed with such a wonderful family.
Thank you, daddy, for everything you do have done and always being there; For setting such a great example and loving us kids no matter what.
I love you.
“kiss me once, and kiss me twice, and kiss me once again….”
4 Responses to “I love you, daddy!”

  1. Aunt Linda January 16, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    Sweet Emily! I know first hand how much your daddy loves you. You are his eastern star you know! I remember the video of your dad getting off the plane with you, and your mom crying. They were over the moon! We were all so excited to have you in our family, and there is not a day gone by that we have not loved you. You make our family complete. I know we have had our “moments” but I have ALWAYS loved you. Even when I was mad at you, I did not stop loving you. You were a typical teenager trying to find her way, and that’s ok! I understood that. Did it make me mad at times, yes, but not at you, just the choices you were making. Everything I did was out of love for you. And if you really look back, I only spoke to your dad twice, both because they were serious problems. We have always been so close Emily. You turned out to be a wonderful, mature, beautiful young woman. A woman I am proud to call my niece! Like your amazing father, I also love you SO much!!

    Love from your favorite aunt (ok, in Texas) :) Linda

  2. theparkersperher January 16, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    so sweet!

  3. Daddy January 16, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    Made Emily’s blog! I’m big time now! Woo Hoo!

  4. charinabrooks January 17, 2012 at 3:39 am #

    Emily such a sweet post that brought tears to my eyes. I also want to thank you for stopping by my little place and liking a post and following me in my journey to inspire, encourage and uplift one blog at a time.

    All good things…
    Charina

What did you think about the post? Leave a comment!

