Remembering 9/11

11 Sep

Ten years ago, our country was changed forever on September 11. On a beautiful cloudless day in New York City, two planes struck the World Trade Center and both towers came crumbling to the ground. Another plane crashed into the Pentagon in Washington, D.C., and a fourth plane headed to the Nation’s Capital came down in Shanksville, Pennsylvania. Thousands of innocent lives were lost in the terrorist attacks.

On this tenth anniversary weekend of 9/11, I’m remembering where I was when I heard about the attacks. I was in my 5th grade art class sketching a bowl of fruit when the intercom came on dismissing a classmate because their parents were there to pick them up; I thought nothing of it until a minute later when someone else was being dismissed. Before I knew it, the class of 23 had dwindled to 10 and we went back to Ms. Weller’s class. She was sheet white with  her head leaned up against the radio and we all knew it was not the right time to ask questions. My classmates and I were confused but left it all alone until Ms. Scott came running in and told Ms. Weller that the second plane had hit and then they both hugged each other and mourned. When they could finally speak  and told us what our country was going through, so many questions were running through my mind: What are the World Trade Centers? Why are we scared if it’s in New York? What is terrorism? and Why are my parents not picking me up early too??

Of course they tried to explain what was going on, but trying to tell 10 year olds the big picture when they were grieving themselves didn’t quite work out too well. I knew it had to be big to cause so much commotion, but I don’t think I ever truly happened that fateful day until years later.

When I came home from school, my parents were listening to the radio and I asked my parents what was going on. They explained it better, but the thought of us going to war was such a crazy concept to  even imagine. We didn’t have a television or internet, the radio bored me, and I never looked at the paper, so I made up my own images in my head of what was happening.  Of course, I felt bad for the families who had lost loved ones but I couldn’t empathize with them  because I didn’t have anyone close ever pass away to me.  Thankfully no one I knew was hurt or directly affected by the attacks, but this was the first time I ever realized that there were people out there that didn’t like our country.

Eventually as I got older, I had more questions but I felt too ashamed to ask anyone. I kept my mouth shut and figured I would learn someday, and as time went by it just got harder and harder to ask and admit my ignorance of 9/11.

Five years later when the movie, ‘United 93’ came out, I remember the ruckus that came about. Many didn’t feel as if enough time had passed before we were reminded of that tragic day, but I decided to watch it and give it a chance. Maybe it would finally answer  some questions I had, and right I was. That movie was my introduction to what happened and made that day more real for me because of the real clips, the commotion and the uniting of the American people. The images I had made up in my head never came close to what actually happened and it tears me up inside that our country had to go through this.

My thoughts and prayers go out to all of the families who paid the ultimate price on September 11, 2001 and to those that continue to sacrifice by fighting to preserve our freedom and keep this great country safe. We will be forever grateful and never forget your unwavering gratitude ♥

What do you remember about 9/11??

3 Responses to “Remembering 9/11”

  1. Jennifer September 11, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    I was in ms. Jakobsons fourth grade class when she turned on the tv and we saw the news. Sad day for everyone.

  2. Jamie C. Baker September 12, 2011 at 4:44 am #

    I was at Georgia State University. After my first class, I headed down to my second one only to find that it was cancelled. I went upstairs to go to grab some breakfast and was stopped in my tracks by the image on the TV. I thought it was an accident; it HAD to be an accident! I stared at the screen with a group of other students for what felt like forever. Eventually I went down to the bookstore and that is when the second plane hit. My heart dropped. Terrified, I rushed down to the MARTA station to catch the train back to my car. It was a mess; people had been evacuated from the CNN center and other buildings in Atlanta because of rumors that it was a terrorist attack. Everyone on the train was terrified. I couldn’t contact my family because I couldn’t get a call to go through on my cell phone. Even now, ten years later, it seems unbelievable to me that something like this happened. I used to live in New York and my memories of the city are flooded with the two towers, that beautiful NYC skyline. Thoughts and prayers go out to everyone affected.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Long Weekend :) « “The love of a family is life's greatest blessing” - September 12, 2011

    […] celebrated 10 years since the attack on the world trade centers. Did you miss my post? Read it here. We woke up early and participated in taking the moment of silence for the men and women who died […]

What did you think about the post? Leave a comment!

