Deer Head

5 Mar

For some reason, I have an irrational fear of mounted heads, or ‘Automatonaphobia’. I don’t know why, but ever since I was little it just freaks me out…

When Ryan and I first started dating, I noticed he had a deer mounted in the t.v room from his first successful hunting trip. I thought I could live with it, but every time I went in the room. I would get weirded out. It got so bad that I couldn’t be in that side of the house alone, or go anywhere in the house when it was dark. Ryan even asked me if I was superstitious haha
I would try and explain my fear to him…when you have them mounted, the taxidermist puts these marble things as their eyes and I swear, it was always staring at me. Yes, I know they look peaceful but still..
Now, the deer is at his office, and I had to cover it with a pillow so it wouldn’t creep me out…AS MUCH…

So anyways…this week I had a school that was 2.5 hours away, and I had to be there at 6. Instead of leaving early in the morning, I decided to stay the night and Ryan graciously took the day off of work to keep me company.
I know there are other photographers that have ran over deers before and if that happened to me, well, let’s just say I would have a heart attack-seriously. I have seen photos of how the deer head comes through the windshield and I almost want to cry just looking at the photos. The route I take to go to schools south of me are back highways and when I get further out, I lose cell signal, and it’s not a well traveled highway that early either (well, what is? haha) So yeah, I would seriously become deeply depressed and it would just be a mess.
Well, Ryan and I are talking about that, and I had to go to the bathroom. I asked him to pull over at the gas shop, and we both got out. I walked in behind Ryan and saw a mounted deer to my left so I quickly turned my head the opposite way and what did I see? The cast of bambi. I walked out of there before I made it two steps in.
Now I am scared and embarrassed of my abrupt exit.
When Ryan finally comes out, here is our conversation:

Emily: ‘Sorry about leaving so fast. Did you say anything to the cashier to get past the awkwardness?’

Ryan: ‘Yeah’ ::laughing::

Emily: ‘Well, did you make fun , or stand up for me?’

Ryan: ‘oh, I made fun of you’ ::laughing::

Emily: ‘Well, what happened’

Ryan: ::walks into store and Emily leaves::

Cashier: ‘Someone’s in the dog house, huh’

Ryan: ‘I don’t know what that was all about…’ ::looks around:: ‘oh,
there are deer heads everywhere, and she is afraid of them’

Cashier: ‘She does know they are dead, right?!’

Ryan: ‘I don’t know…’:: shaking his head and laughing::

Emily: ‘Well thank you for not standing up for me ::laughing::

Ryan: ‘What was I supposed to say, ‘well, you know how dead things can be scary’, huh?’ :: laughing::

so yeah, it was funny if you were there…haha.
We enjoyed ourselves :)

What did you think about the post? Leave a comment!